Look At Me Now!

Ever feel like people are not really seeing the real you?? Ever feel like they are not appreciating your true worth? They are not understanding your true value?  Ever feel like they do not see the real you?  Ever feel like people have written you off because of outward appearances?
People are quick to judge you based on what they see.  They are quick to make assumptions.  When I was growing up I often heard the saying, “When you assume, you make an ass out of you and me”.  Now that I am grown, I know, “When you assume you are making an ass out of yourself”!
I do not have the right hair,
I do not have the right body,
I do not have the right clothes,
I am not one to need or want the spotlight,
I just like to be me!  Doing my job the way God tells me to.
Sadly, people in the church are as judgmental, if not MORE judgmental than people in the world.  They like to judge your clothes, hair, nails, the way you pray,  if you pray in tongues or not, and everything else.
In the bible God told Samuel to anoint Jesse’s son because he would be the future King of Israel.  Samuel was looking for a son who had the LOOK of a king.    This is a huge assumption or mistake that Samuel made in spotting God’s choice for Israel’s king.  Samuel was looking for a statuesque, strapping, confident, young man who had the LOOK of a future king.
I can only imagine Samuel’s surprise AND embarrassment when Jesse’s son the sheep herder came in and God said to Samuel “ANOINT HIM, HE is the one“! 1st Samuel 16:1-13 tells the story of how David the smallest and youngest of Jesse’s sons was anointed as King.

So while people are busy looking at appearances and outward adornments GOD is searching your heart, looking within for what He can use.  So DO NOT live your life trying to please others with your look but strive to please God with your Spirit!


Blessings,
Regina

Please visit my other spots:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/
http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. msladydeborah
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 09:09:41

    This is so true. In this society people are rewarded and condemned for their physical looks. But the body does change and so does "look". What's important is the design of our spiritual covering. If we spent as much time groom that aspect of ourselves, we'd all see how beautiful we are.Great post!

  2. Pat Thacker
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 19:17:12

    Regina your post is sure enough on time!! You nailed it,we are so mistaken because of others assumptions.I'm going to be me and if they can't that then,keep moving.Love ya 🙂

  3. Regina
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 19:37:08

    @Pat – LOL!! I Agree! I can only be me, if that is not working for you then keep it moving. Some people spend their entire lives trying to be what someone else wants them to be or expects them to be, or even worse needs them to be.@Deb – EXACTLY, I would much rather stand before my maker knowing that my Spirit man is indeed beautiful, than parade around before fools trying to fit in!

Leave a Reply

