ENTREPRENEURIAL SERIES – Day 4

~Day 4 of the ENTREPRENEURIAL SERIES!!  PLEASE make sure you READ, COMMENT, TAKE NOTES, and SHOW SOME LOVE to the fabulous folks doing awesome things! ~ 
Be Inspired!!!~

Selena Cochran, Rochester, NY. 
Selena’s Write”

TWITTER:@AWonder
LINKEDIN: Selena Cochran
FACEBOOK: Selena Cochran and Selena’s Write
GOOGLE+: Selena Cochran


Tell the readers a little bit about yourself and Explain what type of business you operate?
A: I like to say I’m a communications’ jack-of-all-trades with extensive experience in numerous facets of  communication, administration, and creative expression.

I’m copy writer, editor, avid blogger, spoken word artist, and author whose core competencies include ghost writing, editorial consulting, copy editing, public speaking and small group presentations.
In a nutshell, I help people find their voice and pen their passion.

How long have you been in business?
A: I’ve been doing this part time for the past 7 years but just made it official in April 2012.

How did you get the name for your business?
A: I bought the 31 Days to Building a Better Blog and one of things it touched on was discovering your brand. Since I am my brand, a little play in words with Selena’s Write and Write Communications was born.

What motivated you to start this type of business?
A: No matter what line of business I’ve worked in, I’ve always come across people with the same problem: the inability to pen their thoughts in a way that others can understand or comprehend. After doing it as a hobby, as part of volunteer work and as a job, I decided to make the full jump since there is such a need.

What are your top 5 must have business tools/aids?
A: 1) my iPhone; I can’t live without it. 2) Great business books on blogging and business practices. Think Darren Rowse and Harvey Mackay. 3) Nook, laptop and/it computer 4) White board and 5) Writing Manuals like CMOS and AP Stylebook.

Where do you see your business in 5 years?
A. In five years, I see expansion with a keen focus on business consulting on an international level. I see growth to include graphic design consults and branding/logos. I see e-books written by myself and a how-to on how to get started with writing.

What inspires you?
A: Love inspires me. The love of a man I’ve never seen who died a death I’ll never comprehend just so I could know the depth of my importance in this world. It drives me to take on the Goliaths in life and render them useless–powerless. Love gives me the wings to soar and the heart to never surrender.

Who is your business icon or who’s business ethic do you admire?
A: I don’t have an icon per se but I most admire some pretty awesome Mommy bloggers who are changing the face of entrepreneur-ship. They are blazing trails and showing that a hobby, can become a passion which can become the start of something phenomenal.

If you were standing in front of a room full of hopeful, promising, entrepreneurs what would you say to them?
A: Never, ever stop dreaming, thinking, growing or learning. Never allow others to put you in a box, chain you to path or otherwise kill the dream that burns in your veins. Be you and enjoy who you are but leave room to become more than you ever thought possible!


Website: http://Selenaswrite.wordpress.com

Love it!!! You Inspired yet? I AM!!! 
(**She is going INTERNATIONAL Y’all!!! You heard it here first!!!**)


Smooches,
Regina

Please visit my other spots:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/
http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel Thompson
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 09:43:59

    @Selena, I'm gonna need you to do something to that Google+ page!LOL Nice to meet YOU!!

  2. None
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 12:48:52

    Rachel, I don't even use it…at all!! Lol!!! I'm all over the place with social media and Google + just seemed like it was another thing to monitor. 🙂 I'm not making any promises though. 🙂

  3. Jackie Seaman
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 13:01:22

    LOL! Selena I agree! I barely use my Google+ page! I go through occasionally and add folks to a circle or just see what Rachel is doing! It seems really time consuming for no reason. But at least I do check mine!!!!

  4. mema
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 14:32:50

    This was a very interesting interview full of excitment and anticipation. I can't wait to see where this business goes, both in size and in travel. Helping people to find their voice and express their ideas in written form is a daunting task. Well done! Regina keep them coming.

  5. Anonymous
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 15:37:06

    Gina,These are awesome. Love this series!!JM

Leave a Reply

