The Father To The Fatherless – Who’s Your Daddy?

Psalm 68:5 A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling.

On this Father’s day, I am thinking about spiritual Fathers.  Spiritual Fathers are the men who are reproducing spiritually, men who have matured spiritually and are now nurturing, and training a younger generation of spiritual children.  The men who are taking the time to impart spiritual knowledge, wisdom, and practices on our young men and women (and the not so young!).  Think of the stuff your earthly father is supposed to do just from a spiritual perspective. You know the loving, training, disciplining, encouraging, inspiring, motivating, but all with a spiritual emphasis!

 
I started thinking of my spiritual father and came to the realization that I did not have a spiritual father.  I found it very interesting that my mother was a single parent mostly (my parents divorced when I was 7).  So after thinking about it for a very long time, I have come to the conclusion that my physical mother was also my spiritual mother and she was STILL a single parent.  Now don’t misunderstand me, I have had spiritual men who had a place in my life, and who imparted wisdom, or knowledge, or some other resource that I needed at the time, but none of them fit the role of a spiritual father.  I had an awesome Pastor years ago who was very instrumental and influential in my spiritual walk.  He was Pastor George Samuel, of Faith Christian Center, in Staten Island, New York.  Pastor Samuel exposed us to awesome people of faith and awesome training.  We received training and spiritual instruction from people like Casey Treat, David Demola, Marilyn Hickey, and other exceptional men and women of faith.  Pastor Samuel gave us training that was unmatched.  He was the closest thing to a spiritual father, but more like a spiritual uncle! 
We eventually moved to a new state, but I took all that I had learned with me!  My mother, who took it a step further and nurtured my spiritual yearning, corroborated everything that he gave me.  As I got older, I learned more, I studied more; I gained more knowledge and wisdom in the ways of the Lord.
I have been a member of other churches since FCC, but none of them matched the training I received early in my spiritual life.  The churches since then have complimented my learning, and multiplied it but no one has ever filled the role of a spiritual father.  
Even though I have never had a spiritual father, I do not feel that I have lacked in that area.  I never felt like a spiritual orphan, or like I was missing out on something because GOD WAS ALWAYS THERE! I think I have come to the realization of what the verse in Psalm 68:5 means or what it means for me.  God has provided the nurturing and guidance that I needed.  He has become my spiritual Father.  So when that verse says that God is a Father to the Fatherless I feel that HE has me covered spiritually!  Whatever I lacked HE provided! HE is truly the Father to the Fatherless!


Happy Father’s Day!
Smooches,
Regina

Please visit my other spots:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/
http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

