Are Tasers Instruments Of Racism??

I don’t usually blog about race relations. There are so many political blogs, racial blogs, and such that you run the risk of just repeating what someone else is already blogging about and that would be boring.

Today however I did want to alert you to a seemingly growing problem in our society…

The number of African-American that are being tasered and also dying from that action is a hot topic with a lot of blogs but seems to mean nothing to mainstream media. Now understand, I walk on the right side of the law and I do understand that at times it is necessary to use a measure of force or other means of enforcing law such as tasing someone. But there appears to be an alarming trend of tasing going on and I must ask if this is fair and equal treatment.

When I googled tasered people the results were as follows:

Tasered People – 1,990,000

Tasered Black People – 270,000

Now, while the number of tasered black people is not even half of the total number of tasered people above, the number is still alarmingly high. And when you couple the number of tasered black people with the circumstances of the taser incidents it seems a like a very racially charged, barbaric act that is being perpetrated on black people. We all know that Racism is alive and well in America, and sadly I believe that some of these taser incidents prove it. I do not believe that criminals should get sympathy, but I do believe in being innocent until proven guilty. Why was this black man tased 9 times before he died??

I think that there needs to be some more extensive training on the use of tasing enforced. I beleive that tasing has gotten out of control.

What are your views on the use of tasers?

Do you think that black people are tasered more often than other races of people?

Do you think the use of tasing on black people is more than or equal to that of other races?

Please view the video below and leave me your thoughts…

Is Tasing Out Of Control???


3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 03:51:00

    I don’t tease ,I’m against racism. Whatever their color, their nationality they’re still human and still need to be respect. I’m glad I belong to a country that every race is welcome with big smile. By the way, I came by to thank you for accepting my EC ad.

  2. Believer 1964
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 08:53:00

    I have no expertise when it comes to statistics or this topic so I can offer nothing in that aspect. However, I do know that police can be intimating to me so I can’t imagine what rises up in folk who have been mistreated before by the law. It’s a quandary, and this mess burdens my heart.The police should have handled the circumstance much differently with the blind woman.

  3. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 15:02:00

    Hello there!The taser is being used as a hand-held electrocution device and it is DISPROPORTIONATELY used to kill blacks….how many unarmed whites have died by police use of tasers in this year…? And how many unarmed blacks have died from taser electrocution?The statistics tell the real story….Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!Lisa

Leave a comment